Joan Fleming

Writer and Author

About Me

 I was born and educated in Edinburgh. After graduating in Modern Languages at the University of Edinburgh, I became a teacher of French and German, mainly in schools in the West of Scotland. Since leaving teaching, I now have more time to devote to writing.

I'd been writing for pleasure for many years, and decided to join Erskine Writers, a supportive group which has members at all stages of their writing development - from published novelists to complete beginners. This group is affiliated to the Scottish Association of Writers. I am a member of the Romantic Novelists' Association (RNA) and also of the Society of Authors.

 I write short stories, children's stories and articles, some of which have been published. I've written several longer pieces, including full-length novels, which I submitted to the New Writers' Scheme of the RNA. In the light of advice I was given, I revised my manuscripts, and in December 2013, I was offered a contract by Tirgearr Publishing to e-publish one of my shorter novels, What the Future Holds, the first in the Magic of Mull Series. With this novel, I was a finalist in May 2015 for the Joan Hessayon Award of the Romantic Novelists' Association (see later page).

Two further books in the Series followed:

Spirit of the Island (Magic of Mull Series #2) November 2015.

Daughter of Mull (Magic of Mull Series #3) June 2017.

In February 2019, the first book in a new series was released:

Moment of Truth (The Rowanbrae Series #1)

 I've been successful in a number of competitions in Erskine Writers and in the Scottish Association of Writers annual series of competitions. Please see some examples of my published articles and short stories on the following pages.

'So all my best is dressing old words new,

Spending again what is already spent.'

William Shakespeare, Sonnet 76